You are currently browsing the daily archive for May 16, 2020.

Greetings, my fellow port swillers!

A lovely, lovely Mid-May-The-Way-It-Ought-To-Be day here at Port Swiller Manor had Ol’ Robbo out doing the Full Monty around the demesne** this morning.  This is our expression for a complete top-to-bottom mowing, trimming, and blowering from the ditch by the road all the way to the little glade between my back gate and the tree line.  I also threw in cleaning all the leaves and dead camellia flowers off the patio plus a little tree-pruning.  It took me about four hours altogether and I’m counting it as my day’s exercise.

In the meantime, as I predicted last week the warmer temperature has started to bring out some more of my flowers in earnest, so I snapped some pics for your consideration:

 

Say Hello To The Peonies! (These are Japanese-type flowers, I think, but don’t hold me to it)

 

Another Peony, of the “bomb” flower variety

MOAR ROSES!

 

Patio Clematis juuuust starting to wake up

Finally, some more azaleas for those who want a reminder of the smell of Holly-Tone

Enjoy! (I should be able to do you some foxgloves and wisteria next week, plus a couple other varieties of peony.)

** A leftover vocabular word from Robbo’s Property Law class back in the day.  We had to learn English feudal land rights because our modern legal concepts of land use and land ownership are based on them.  Ironically, the course was taught by a professed Communist who didn’t actually believe in any of it.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 509,262 hits
May 2020
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031