You are currently browsing the daily archive for May 10, 2020.

Greetings, my fellow port swillers!

Happy news in Ol’ Robbo’s corner of the world as late this week Bishop Burbridge announced our Diocese will begin reinstituting public worship on a limited basis next week.  No news yet from my own parish about how it will go about implementing this, but I expect Father will let us know soon.  Given that there simply aren’t all that many people at the Mass I attend in the first place, there is a very real chance that we could finally get back to something approaching normal relatively quickly.  Huzzah! Huzzay!

Speaking of such, Video Meliora has up an excerpt from Flannery O’Connor’s prayer journal which is well worth a read.  Ol’ Robbo has long meant to dive deeper into her writings than the quotes, excerpts, and few short stories he has read heretofore.  But to be honest, I can’t think of a single other author who actually intimidates me as much as she does.  A laser-beam intelligence, profound religious wisdom and insight, and a penchant for not suffering fools gladly, I couldn’t bring myself to read her without anything less than the utmost literary rigor.  The idea of reading her casually is, frankly, appalling.

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 509,257 hits
May 2020
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031