Greetings, my fellow port swillers!

So tomorrow is the 50th anniversary of the assassination of JFK.  Well, not to speak ill of the dead, but I will tell you plainly that I have no particular sympathy for the hoopla that has been building up to it over the past week or two among teh Elites.

Of course it was an awful tragedy.  Of course it was an act of pure evil.   Of course it knocked the Nation for six.  But all this “The Event That Changed The Course Of History For Evah” stuff?  Well, in my humble opinion that’s just Boomer jacking o-……um, hrrmph, well, never mind (you know what I mean), and I am of neither the age nor the temperament to feel any inclination to participate.  Next April marks the 150th anniversary of the assassination of Lincoln, an event which arguably had a greater influence on the course of American history by several orders of magnitude.  Let’s see how high the fires of homage are piled by this lot then.   My guess? Not so much.

Oh, and the rhetoric being  bandied about (nudge, nudge, wink, wink) concerning what a hide-bound, reactionary nest of hate-filled conservative whacko-birds Dallas was at the time?  Let’s remember the simple truth of the matter:  Oswald, in addition to being a crackpot, was a Communist.  A Fellow Traveler with his visa stamps all up to date.  A goddam Red.   Nuff said.

Oh, and as for the whole “Camelot” thing?  I still recall the day I suddenly realized that the imagery had nothing to do with Sir Thomas Malory or Geoffrey of Monmouth, but instead with Lerner and Loewe.   At first I was dumbfounded.  It had always been bad enough to me to believe that the Arthurian Legend, which I cherish even more now than I did back then, had been so outrageously hijacked by the Kennedy PR machine.  But that they were in fact bent on co-opting a modern musickal?  Well, that actually began to make sense, albeit in a sad way.  Tinsel Age play-acting frippery and all that.

Sorry, but the older I get and the more I see, the greater my loathing for politicks.   And tomorrow is all about teh politicks.

UPDATE: Via teh Puppy Blender, Ann Althouse offers some tips about commemorating teh day, most of which take on the form of shut up, already….