You are currently browsing the daily archive for January 16, 2009.

Earlier today I was listening to a performance of the Hummel Trumpet Concerto on the radio.  At the end, the announcer noted that the soloist was one Alison Balsom.  In addition to commenting that she was a rising star on the performance circuit, the fellah started to say something about Balsom’s “other wonderful attributes” but suddenly pulled himself up short and passed on to other topics.

Intrigued, I dialed her up on Google:

alisonbalsom Now far be it from me to make crude “horn-blowing” jokes here.  Suffice to say she’s a whoooole lot easier on the eyes than Maurice André.

UPDATE:

A fellow port-swiller asks:

“If we can divert your attention for a moment….how was her musical performance?”

The answer, I’m happy to say, is “quite good”.  I don’t especially care for the Hummel piece, in part because I don’t much like his musick in general and also because I’ve heard this particular warhorse butchered far too many times.  Balsom’s treatment was refreshingly light and zippy, especially in the final movement, which requires such a touch in order to be pulled off successfully.

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 509,262 hits
January 2009
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031