You are currently browsing the daily archive for August 3, 2020.

Greetings, my fellow port swillers!

Whelp, it now appears to be O-fficial that Port Swiller Manor will get clipped by Tropical Storm Isaias (pronounced, “Ekky-ekky-ekky-ekky-f’tang-zoom-boing-mrowr!”, I b’lieve) tonight and tomorrow.

We haven’t quite got to the point of deciding which of the pets we’ll eat first, but I did go so far as to remove the more airborne-capable objects from the porch this morning.

And after all the money I shelled out for the damn thing, we may finally get to put our generator to some use.   (The last time a major TS came through here, I recall power was out for about four days.)

We shall see.  Stay tuned.

“This Burger! It Is Made Of NOTHING!” UPDATE:  Meh.  Some decent rain, hardly any wind.  From the radar it looks like most of the action is east of Dee Cee and out over the Bay.  I can’t even bring myself to crack a Jim “Mimbo” Cantore joke here.

UPDATE DEUX:  For those of you wondering, yes, we did indeed have the generator kick in.  For about half an hour.  Late in the day, loooong after the storm had moved out.  I suspect Virginny Power cut the juice intentionally so it could make repairs elsewhere on the grid.  Yee-haw.

Archives

Recent Comments

CaptainNed on Happy Murph Day! **
tubbs on Happy Murph Day! **
Robbo on On Radio Daze
rbj1 on On Radio Daze
rheinman on On Radio Daze

Blog Stats

  • 508,190 hits
August 2020
M T W T F S S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31