You are currently browsing the daily archive for February 10, 2012.

Greetings, my fellow port swillers!

Glancing idly through the wiki almanac, as is my custom, I see where today is the anniversary of the birth of the actor Alan Hale, Sr. in 1892.

Ol’ Robbo has an affinity for multi-generational acting families.  That affinity is heightened in this particular instance by the fact that Mr.  Hale and his son Alan, Jr. happened to resemble each other quite strongly. 

In fact, the Hales, pére et fils, bore such a familial likeness that I never fail, whilst watching the old Adventures of Robin Hood, to blurt out at some point, “Gilligan! I said steal from the rich and give to the poor!”  I then answer myself, “Sorry, Skipper!” with my best Ronald Coleman swashbuckler bravado.

For some reason, I find that joke to be very amusink.  Other people? Not so much.

Archives

Recent Comments

sleepybeth on On Ch-Ch-Changes **
Robbo on On Ch-Ch-Changes **
Old Dominion Tory on On Ch-Ch-Changes **
NOVA Curmudgeon on On Ch-Ch-Changes **
NOVA Curmudgeon on In Which Robbo Dances the Acad…

Blog Stats

  • 508,694 hits
February 2012
M T W T F S S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
272829