You are currently browsing the daily archive for December 7, 2022.

Greetings, my fellow port swillers!

Another wet, gloomy day here in the neighborhood of Port Swiller Manor. Such conditions don’t do much to stimulate one’s personal Muse.

***

Does anybody even still teach about Pearl Harbor nowadays? Other than to say that we brought it on ourselves, I mean.

***

Speaking of teaching, I discovered the other day that Youngest Gel has an inexplicable knowledge of Blackbeard Teach, of all people. Not the “Arrr, matey!” stuff, but his real predations on the Carolina coast and the nefarious machinations of Virginia Governor Spotswood to catch him. I can only suppose that when it comes to useless knowledge, the apple doesn’t fall very far from Ol’ Robbo’s tree.

***

Speaking of history, I caught another episode of Kelsey Grammer’s “Pivotal Battles” series on the teevee last evening. This one was about Vicksburg. The series continues to be okay, I guess, but it seems to me that a little more detail and fewer long shots of actors looking dour might be in order – the show wound up summarizing the last two and a half years of the War in about five minutes, which seemed to me pretty lopsided. Also, the episode couldn’t resist taking a jab at Grant’s drinking, the alleged excesses of which I remain convinced are entirely the invention of his enemies.

Anyhoo, the next episode is about Little Big Horn. Once again, Ol’ Robbo insists that this was not a “pivotal” battle in American history. I may wind up watching just to rant, however.

***

And finally, speaking of ranting, I seem to see a reheating of the Covid “booster” enthusiasm amongst Our Betters. I thought we were long past all that nonsense. I only got the original vaccines because I’d have been fired otherwise. Fortunately, my employer went squishy on the matter of booster enforcement so I’ve been able to ignore it all. I hope this doesn’t change. Smiley-face tyranny is the worst sort. (FWIW, Johns Hopkins has a post up on FacePlant on “How to talk to your family and friends about the new boosters. They’re getting slammed in the comments. Perhaps I am not alone in my opinion here.)

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 508,210 hits
December 2022
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031