Greetings, my fellow port swillers, and Happy New Year!

Ol’ Robbo writes this a few hours prematurely because I’m about to sign off and go help prepare Port Swiller Manor for the celebratory shindig we’ll be hosting this year.  As per immemorial custom, the Former Llama Military Correspondent and his family will be joining us, as will my brother and his wife.  (Their teenaged kids will not be coming, however, because they already have “other plans”.  I shudder at the thought.  Not in a jillion years would I travel out of state and leave my own brood free range at home.)  Meanwhile, the Gels all seem to have perpetually-evolving schemes to have over some of their own friends (girls and boys), so ol’ Robbo will be on ceaseless patrol tonight to ensure no funny biznay.

Anyhoo, I’m guessing that more than one friend of the decanter is as eager as I am to see the back of 2016.  What a year.  Not that I can complain on a personal level, you understand, but yeesh.  Ol’ Robbo is old enough to remember the malaise at the end of the Carter Era.  You can take it from me:  This is worse.  At least Carter stepped down with some modicum of dignity left.

On the other hand, I’ve pretty much been laughing my backside off since November and my shaden-boner continues to be yuge and spectacular.  I have absolutely no illusions about 2017 and what is coming for our country.  However, I think, I think, that we may be at the point Churchill was talking about when he said it was not the beginning of the end or the middle of the front or the left turn at Albuquerque or whatever it was.  (I think Winston had had a few when he said that.  Gandalf put it much more crisply when he spoke of meeting at the turning of the tide.  “The great storm is coming, but the tide has turned.”)  The progressivists, in their greed and arrogance, have overreached and been checked.  The coming year will see what kind of counterattack can be mustered.  Really, it’s as simple as that.  As I say, I have no illusions.  But I do know it’s going to be one hell of a ride.

In the meantime, enjoy yourselves tonight, stay safe, have another one on me, and I’ll see you on the other side.

 

