Greetings, my fellow port swillers!

Eldest Gel was telling me more of the post-election atmosphere on campus last evening.

First, her English prof came to class with his dog yesterday.  “I thought after what happened last night, we could all use some therapy,” he said.  Then he looked over at the Gel and said, “Except you, of course.”

The Gel, to her credit, burst out laughing.  “Figured me out, have you?” she said.

“It wasn’t that difficult,” he replied.

That’s my gel!

Her History prof took a different tack.  “You all know my political views, of course,” she said, “I’m as liberal as you can get.  But know this, too:  I believe in the 1st Amendment more than anything else.  If you voted for Hillary, fine.  If you voted for Trump, fine.  If you voted for somebody else, fine.  What’s important is that none of you, no matter who you voted for, should ever be afraid to say so in my classroom.  Nor should you feel afraid to give your opinion about anything else, no matter what it is.”

Of course, since it’s a private college, there really isn’t any 1st Amendment issue here.  Nonetheless,  I really like this woman’s attitude.  The Gel likes her, too.  When we chatted, I told her that her prof was an example of Principled Liberalism, an increasingly rare specimen these days.  This, as opposed to Leftism, which is nothing more than the Will to Power and has no principles whatsoever.

 

