Greetings, my fellow port swillers!

Ol ‘Robbo was trying just now to thumb-blog a new post on his I-thingy about the pathos which is modern Olympic tee-vee coverage and which I refuse to watch, when said I- thingy ate my effort.  Grrrr……

I was doing so while half- watching “The Matrix” on BBC America for no especially good reason.  When I looked up from my failed post, I suddenly realized I was looking at a commercial for a new Beeb series, “Dirk Gently’s Holistic Detective Agency”.

No, no, no, no, and bloody damn-all, no!

Douglas Adams’ novel of the same name is, IMHO, probably his best work, but it was almost entirely a one-off thing.  ( The sequel, “The Long, Dark, Tea-Time Of The Soul”, was a distinct let-down.  This is characteristic of Adams, who had a genius for innovation, but less talent for follow-up.). How anyone thinks they can carry on the spirit and vivacity of the source where even Adams himself couldn’t is beyond me.

(Besides, the fellah playing Gently is all wrong- not nearly slovenly enough.)

i suppose this is just one thing more I will not watch.

