Greetings, my fellow port swillers!

Not really Christmas-related, but last evening ol’ Robbo watched the 1972 screwball comedy “What’s Up, Doc?”  I haven’t seen this film for some time and was impressed with how well it has held up over the years.  The big chase scene at the end is still a classic.

Yes, I am actually praising a movie featuring the young Mecha-Streisand, but I’ve always liked it in spite of her, not because of her.  The plot is funny and tight enough and the supporting cast (including Kenneth Mars, Sorrell “Boss Hogg” Booke and Madeline Kahn in her first role) are deep enough to get around her.  As for Ryan O’Neal?  Eh, the Mothe says he is nom-worthy.

Frankly, the only real flaw in the film is the relationship between O’Neal’s otherworldly music professor and Babwa!’s sassy firecracker.  I don’t buy it.  The man wants peace and quiet.  Sure, a life with Madeline Kahn’s Eunice would have involved 24/7 hen-pecking, but so would one with Babwa!.  The difference is that Kahn’s character (a thankless role, btw) is a mere neurotic twit and her hen-pecking can be ignored.  On the other hand, cross Babwa! and she’d boil the kids’ bunny or burn the house down or administer the John Wayne Bobbitt treatment faster than you can say “knife”.   In the end, I don’t really think he traded up.

One other point and I admit up front that I might actually be mis-remembering this:  The final scene finds O’Neal on a flight out of San Francisco back to Iowa.  As he sits there, he suddenly hears Babwa!’s voice behind him and realizes she’s followed him.  A few words later, they seal the deal of their new-found relationship.  Now, during all this, the old Bugs Bunny cartoon “What’s Up, Doc?” is showing on the plane’s moovie screen.  (Get it? Get it?)  Here’s the relevant part:

Now as I remember it from previous viewings, O’Neal and Babwa! get there biznay out of the way and the camera focuses itself on the cartoon just when Bugs sticks his carrot in Elmer Fudd’s gun, blows it up and seltzers Fudd in the face.  But on the DVD I watched last evening, there was a sudden jerk from O’Neal and Babwa! straight to Bugs and Elmer singing harmony.

Am I losing my mind or did somebody edit out the gun part?  I won’t rant about Soviet airbrushing or ISIS classical architecture demolition or other statist efforts to change history because, as I say, I’m not altogether sure here, but if I am correct you may take said ranting as a given.

Programming Note:  What with the likelihood of silly knees-bent running around advancing behavior associated with Noo Yearz tomorrow, I don’t know how many opportunities I will get at the keyboard over the next day or two, so if I don’t post, go ahead and take the next couple days of Christmas as given and also have a happy (and safe!) New Year.

 

