Greetings, my fellow port swillers!

For those two or three of you who still gather together here, sorry for the absence this week.  We went to visit my brother and his family for Thanksgiving and one of my nieces had a stomach bug. Said bug slipped into the car as a stowaway and subsequently introduced itself in one form or another to most of the Port Swiller Manor household.  Heigh-ho.

I’m feeling better, thank you, but still haven’t got back into that frame of mind that produces good quality blog-posts [Ed. – when did you ever? Quiet, you!] so I’ll just leave you with a brief mini-review of a movie I watched this week, the 1982 teevee version of “The Scarlet Pimpernel“.

As teevee movies go, it was okay, I suppose.  Anthony Andrews chewed up the scenery as the foppish Sir Percy (“Sink me!”) Blakeney.  I was quite surprised that the Frenchie villain Chauvelin was played by a young Ian McKellen.   (I couldn’t help wondering whether he’d already started the practice of ripping up hotel Bibles out of spite at that point in his career.)  Jane Seymour as Marguerite St. Just was nowhere near in the same league as Merle Oberon in the 1934 version.  Apart from that, the sets were good, the action was reasonable, the musick was absolute rubbish.

Seeing Seymour reminded me of an old beef I cherished back in the day when she played Dr. Quinn, “Medicine Woman”.  Not that I ever watched the show itself, but they used to run ads for it on the local radio and one of the voice-overs was of a character who said in a sing-song, Mr. Rogers voice, “It’s the wonderful diversity that makes this place so spaycial!”  I always wanted to reach through the radio and throat-punch that guy.

Oh, and speaking of made-for-teevee movies, I also re-watched “The Last Legion“, the fantasy story of how the last Emperor of Rome, young Romulus Augustulus, was smuggled out of the City after the Goths under Odoacer took over, fled to Britain and established the Arthurian Dynasty.  No, I did not watch it again because of Bollywood hottie Aishwarya Rai Bachchan in a soaking wet shirt.  Nope.  Not at all.  Just shut your whore mouth!   Instead, I watched it to laugh at Colin Firth trying to pull off a battle-hardened Roman general.  Sorry, but he just can’t.

Anyhoo, I’m back.

 

