Well here’s a story that ought to make friends of the decanter shudder if they’re paying the least attention at all:  40% of Millennials OK with limiting speech offensive to minorities Government Censorship.  (Fixed for accuracy.)

We asked whether people believe that citizens should be able to make public statements that are offensive to minority groups, or whether the government should be able to prevent people from saying these things. Four-in-ten Millennials say the government should be able to prevent people publicly making statements that are offensive to minority groups, while 58% said such speech is OK.

The percentages approving censorship go down sharply among the older generational blocs.

This is what comes of an education system that now teaches the precious little snowflakes to emote rather than to think.  (Deliberately, by the way.  Such mush-for-brains are much easier to manipulate.)

Not that I have any sympathy for ill-bred taunts (no more do my sisters nor my cousins nor my aunts), but there are other ways of dealing with them in the marketplace of ideas than going to Uncle to clamp down on them.  As I never tire of pointing out, a government that can do anything for you is also a government that can do anything to you.

I dunno how far this will go.  For what it’s worth, although I haven’t watched “South Park” in years, my libertarian oldest daughter is a yooge fan and says that the character of P.C. Principal this year is an absolutely brutal and hylarious mockery of all this.

