Nats HatGreetings, my fellow port swillers!

There’s a moment in one of my favorite movie musickals, A Funny Thing Happened On The Way To The Forum, in which the braggart soldier is just about out of patience at the delay in the appearance of the virgin bride for which he’d payed and for whom he’d come to collect, and the slave in chief of the house in which said soldier (wrongly) believes the girl to be is starting to freak out:

Hysterium:  Uh, Whu, Um, Oh…

Pseudolus: Calm…….

Hysteriun: Buh, Whu, Uh…….

Pseudolus: Caaalm……

Hysterium: Buh, Uh, Whu….

Pseudolus: CALM yourself! I’ll tell you when it’s time to panic.

Miles Gloriosus: Bring me that girl at once or you all shall perish!

Pseudolus:  It’s time…..

I find myself fighting mighty hard against going all Hysterium myself as I contemplate the current situation of my beloved Nationals.  Four games back of the Mets and playing, shall we say, distinctly ho-hum ball.  Yeah, I didn’t really expect to win this week against Kershaw and Greinke, but we’ve dropped a bunch of games recently that we should have won, largely due to poor bullpen management and underperforming run production.

I remind myself that we are facing, this week, probably the last really hard series of the season, taking on the Dodgers and teh Giants at their respective parks.  I recently read somewhere or other that our last six weeks’ schedule is, given the records of our opponents, one of the easiest in the league.

I remind myself that we still haven’t played a game this season with our entire starting squad owing to injuries and that, even though Zimmerman, Werth and Rendon have recently returned, it’s going to take them a while to get up to peak form.  (And as I write, I don’t yet know anything about the latest injury to Harper.)

I remind myself that the Mets have a very, very young starting rotation and also that, well, they’re the Mets, and that although they are currently hot, it’s not unreasonable to expect them to fall apart.

Nonetheless, I see where the knives are beginning to come out for Manager Matt Williams and I’m not so sure that I can resist the temptation to take up the call for his scalp myself.

Man, I love this game but I also really hate it.

Well, what else is there to say except

GO, NATS!!!

 

