Greetings, my fellow port swillers!

For those two or three of you who still gather over the decanter on a regular basis, I just wanted to let you know that I will be away on biznay travel this coming week, arriving back at Port Swiller Manor some time Friday afternoon.  (Eastern Wyoming this time, in case you’re interested, an area I’ve never visited.  My plan is to fly into Denver and drive up so that I can see a bit of the country.)

A few months back, Ol’ Robbo’s employer took away his Blackberry and wished on him an iPhone.  Although I generally hate change, and although I particularly hate the zombie-like stare that seems to come over so many iPhone users, it occurs to me that at least said iPhone has a camera, and that there’s really no good reason I perhaps can’t take some snaps on it and post them here.  (Teh Middle Gel promised to show me how.)

So start looking out next weekend for some pics.  I ‘ll see what I can do.

In the meantime, as always the port stands before you along with the walnuts and, as always, the Stilton is on the sideboard.  Feel free to tuck in.

UPDATE:  Wake the kids and phone the neighbors, ol’ Robbo has arrived home safe and sound.  And yes, I did take some pics and yes, I will put up a post this weekend incorporating them. (Not that I’ve been exactly inundated with requests, but I put nearly 700 miles on the rental car this week traveling about terra incognita, so  you’ll get Uncle Robbo’s slideshow, and you’ll like it!)

In the meantime, a couple travel notes:  I find that my irrational fear of flying grows steadily weaker for some reason.  Alas, all that brain capacity freed up now finds itself contemplating the more mundane hardships of commercial aviation, the crowds, the petty indignities, the endless blaring of CNN.  I’m not sure if the trade-off is worth it.

Coming back this afternoon, the fellah sitting next to me – who I gathered was from abroad – tried to give the stewardess his cup and napkin, inadvertently putting them in the wrong bag.  “We recycle,” she snapped.  “Some people don’t….but we do.”

After she passed, I let out a snort.  The fellah turned to me and shrugged.

“Let that be a lesson to you, young man,” I said, waiving my pen ponderously.

He shrugged again and muttered, “Nobody has ever been that rude to me here.”

Friendly Skies, indeed.

Oh, and on a more serious note, because I avoid CNN and USEless Today, I only got some of the details of the Marine massacre in Tennessee this afternoon.  God help the victims and their families.  One question:  Has anyone checked to see if the shooter had a Confederate flag?

 

 

