US_flag_13_stars_–_Betsy_Ross

Greetings, my fellow port swillers!

Ol’ Robbo will be away tomorrow retrieving the younger gels from camp and probably will not have much time for posting over the holiday weekend, so let me go ahead and wish you all a happy 4th of July here and now.

Unfortunately, I must say that I cannot recall another 4th in my half century on this earth when I did not feel more anger, disgust, and fear about the state and direction of our country than I do now.  We’re despised by our allies and laughed at by our enemies.  At home, we’ve slipped into what amounts to soft fascism and rampant social libertinism, all the while floating our “lifestyle” with money that doesn’t actually exist.  21st Century bread and circuses, indeed.

Of course it can’t go on because both math and the gods of teh copybook headings are hard.  My only hope is that when the crisis comes on (and it will), we remember what we came from and will rebuild accordingly.

In the meantime, fire up your grills, grab your favorite adult beverages, pop a few (real) fireworks, and salute the flag, not for what it represents now but for what it has stood for and can stand for again.

UPDATE:  Sorry to be such a grump, especially after I had counseled my own brother (a Ditto-Head of long standing) against despair.

