Greetings, my fellow port swillers!

I mentioned the monsoon that struck the Port Swiller Manor neighborhood the other day?  Well, turns out it flooded Eldest Gel’s room down the basement fairly thoroughly.  It also got into the main room of the basement, buckling a section of floor near the teevee.

Sigh.  Regular friends of the decanter may recall that exactly the same damned thing happened last summah, and that ol’ Robbo spent considerable time and money getting the basement redone, including what was supposed to be a thorough waterproofing of the walls.  (Pro tip:  Do not put in Pergo where there is any danger of water seepage.  Once the moisture gets under it, you’re doomed. I should have considered this, but I was so confidently informed by the contractor that the basement had been completely sealed that I ignored the danger.)

Well, as Ray Davies sang, here we go round again.  The contractors were back out today ripping up the ruined Pergo and starting to dig holes in the walls to find the leaks.

This time we’re looking at putting in wood-like porcelain tile (something I did not even know existed) on the theory that even if it does get wet, it doesn’t matter very much. I believe this stuff is somewhat more expensive than Pergo, which leads to a delicate point:  Clearly the latest damage was caused by the contractor not doing a proper job last summah, and I don’t think they’re going to squawk too much about covering the repairs.  However, if we are effectively upgrading, who covers that additional cost?

It is here that I shamelessly turn the whole thing over to Mrs. R.  Despite the fact that I’m a lawyer, I really hate to dicker about personal matters.  Mrs. R, on the other hand, seems to enjoy it.  That’s why I have come to leave all such matters – buying cars, negotiating home projects, etc. – in her capable hands.

UPDATE:  Good news, every Juan!  Turns out that the gel’s bedroom leak was the result of an overlooked pipe and easily fixable.  The other leak was caused by a genuine new crack, but is fixable by a little judicious landscaping and drainage modification.  Given this, we’ve decided to stick with the Pergo.  Whole biznay much cheaper than I first feared.

