Greetings, my fellow port swillers!

This evening, teh Middle Gel and her choir-mates are down the Kennedy Center, participating in a production of Carl Orff’s Carmina Burana.

I say “participating in” instead of “performing” because the main load is being carried by the Choral Arts Society of Washington.  The Cathedral Choir has only about two minutes’ aggregate singing time, spending the other sixty-eight or so minutes of the thing kicking their heels.   Hey, it’s good publicity.  And it is the Kennedy Center, after all.

To those friends of the decanter who are wondering why ol’ Robbo isn’t there to see the Gel, but instead has fobbed the job off on Mrs. R, I will say that, aside from the O, Fortuna bit,*  which I admit to have a certain rousing energy and the use of which I enjoyed in the movie Excalibur, I really don’t care for the rest of the piece.  As the Middle Gel herself astutely remarked, it sounds like video game musick.  No wonder the Nazis were so fond of the piece.

Interestingly, over the years I have noticed that most other non-singers don’t much like the piece, while many, many singers actually quite enjoy it.  Perhaps it’s more fun to perform then to hear.

Anyhoo, whatever else, I’m sure Teh Gel and her mates will do credit to themselves.

* Fun fact:  I was discussing O, Fortuna with teh Gel this afternoon and mentioned that I was pretty sure John Williams ripped off those clashing opening chords for the climactic fight between Obi-Wan and Anakin in Star Wars III: Revenge of the Sith.  Her response? “Well, what hasn’t John Williams ripped off?”

Heh, that’s my gel.

