Greetings, my fellow port swillers!

Ol’ Robbo took advantage of a bit of warmer air in the neighborhood of Port Swiller Manor to get a jump on the spring preparation out in the yard this morning.  (Actually, cutting back the peonies was something I should have done last fall, so I suppose I’m in part technically playing catch up instead of getting a jump, but we’re going to go with “jobs created or saved” accounting here.)  We really haven’t had much snow so far this winter, but it’s been quite cold and I’ve been feeling a touch of cabin fever.  Any excuse to get outside is nice.

And speaking of this time of the year, friends of the decanter may have seen this Valentine’s Day gift suggestion from the Vermont Teddy Bear people:  The “Fifty Shades of Grey” Teddy Bear.

90 bucks.  And I’ll bet they sell like hotcakes.  Because nothing says “I love you” like a tribute to bondage and a good flogging, amirite?

VTB is just going where the market it, of course, but the popularity of this whole “FSoG” thing (especially among women) continues to baffle me.  So far as I can tell without having read the book myself, it’s nothing more than pretty straight-forward S&M with a thin top dressing of psycho-babble through which the heroine convinces herself (and her audience) that her degradation is somehow a good thing.  Now ol’ Robbo is no prude, but really?

The other thing that puzzles me is that I haven’t heard or seen much Feminazi pushback against the franchise.  It may be there, but I’ve missed it.  One would think they’d be shrieking from the rooftops.  Unless, of course, calling out this sort of  perversity is now considered a form of slut-shaming and is therefore taboo.  I can’t keep up.

I gather the movie version opens either on or right around Valentine’s Day itself.  I shudder to think how many people are going to go see it in order to celebrate.

We live in depraved times.  We really do.  This sort of thing has always existed on the margins.  What’s horrifying is how mainstreamed it’s suddenly become. Ol’ Robbo’s going back out into the garden.

 

 

