Greetings, my fellow port swillers!  I hope all of you kicked off the Christmas festivities yesterday with joy and merriment!

We certainly did, at least until the oven conked out after I’d removed the roast but before I could start the popovers, thus leaving our traditional Christmas Day dins rayther uneven.   (We have a GE Profile.  The range is gas but the oven is electric.  The thing’s about five years old and this must be the third or fourth time it’s crashed.  Stupid electronics.)  Never mind.  The rest of the food was delicious, there was plenty of drink and the gels did not fight with each other, so it was all good.

Earlier this afternoon ol’ Robbo found himself wondering why he was feeling so sleepy.  Then I remembered that I’d put in a full day on Christmas Eve getting everything decked and prepared, that I didn’t get home from Midnight Mass until past 2:30 ack emma yesterday, that I was dragooned out of bed about four hours later to open presents, that I stayed up late into the evening cleaning up the remains of said dinner and that I was up again at six this morning in order to run the gels to the airport for their trip down to Flahwrduh to visit Mrs. Robbo’s parents and grandmother.

Yeah, that’ll do it.

No matter, though.  I’ll be baching it for the next few days and can sleep in as long as I like tomorrow.

And for those of you wondering, I should have an internet connection up in the new Port Swiller Eagle’s Nest this weekend so will be able to resume normal posting and to catch up on what’s going on in the world.  (The router is still in the eldest gel’s new digs at the moment as is the family Mac, but since she’s out of town she need not know that I’ve invaded her space in order to use it.)

UPDATE: D’OH!  So much for sleeping in.  Thursday is our usual trash collection but since it was Christmas our collectors informed us they would be around today.  We have a LOT of trash stacked up so it was important to me to get it out to the curb.  Unfortunately, I had assumed they would come around some time mid-morning like they usually do, so that I could attend to this at my leisure.  Uh-uh.  At about 6:30, I suddenly awoke to the sound of their truck rumbling up the street.  I dashed outside just in time to see them going round the corner.  So, trash still stacked up and ol’ Robbo jerked out of the dreamless.

 

