Greetings, my fellow port swillers!

Ol’ Robbo always has been appalled at the concept of “Black Friday”, the notion that on the day after Thanksgiving  we should “cry ‘Havoc!’ and release the dogs of X-mas shopping!!”

This year, however, it seems to him that things are much worse, in that major chains are advertising that their “Black Friday” sales are going to start on Thanksgiving Day itself.  Is this a thing that’s been going on for a while, or is it new?  (I watch very little commercial teevee so don’t often come in contact with this sort of thing, but I happen to be watching the Ravens/Saints game this evening.  Also saw an Obamacare ad for the first time.  J’eh, right!)

Apart from anything else, do any of these outfits pause to consider what kind of impact such ploys have on their own employees?  Do they stop to consider the poor shlubs  who will have to give up their Thanksgivings in order to go pull a shift?  Do they care?  (Okay, I know the answer to that last one….)

Disgusting.

But then again, that word seems to apply to so much of what passes for the culture these days.

As for myself, I can assure friends of the decanter that I will spend Thanksgiving itself in pure family revelry and  “Black Friday” loafing about in post-revely recovery.  No. Shopping.

 

