"Home, Sweet Home" by Winslow Homer, 1863.

“Home, Sweet Home” by Winslow Homer, 1863.

Looking back on life so far, I would say that one of the few regrets I have is that I never served in the military.   I registered for the draft, of course, but by then (’80 or ’82) it had long since been suspended (do they still require registration anymore?) and, at the time, the idea of volunteering simply never occurred to me.  Might have done me a power of good between high school and college.

It seems to me that there’s something to be said for a couple years’ compulsory service.  OTOH, it’s my understanding that the military itself really doesn’t want this, as it prefers not to be saddled with deadweight absent some pressing need for mass mobilization.

Anyhoo, when I come to think about it, rayther a lot of the Family Robbo have been in uniform at one time or another.

The Old Gentleman did his four years in the Army Medical Corp.  (I’ve still got his old field jacket somewhere.)  I don’t think he contributed much directly to fighting the Cong, but his posting to Fort Sam Houston was directly responsible for my misspent yoot in South Texas.

The Mothe’s brother was the rear-seater in a Navy fighter-bomber in Korea.  They blew up a Nork ammo train one time.  On the other hand, he was also shot down once (he was wounded bailing out).

A great uncle on the Old Gentleman’s side was a Commander in Naval Intelligence in WWII.  Don’t know if he spent any time at sea, but he wound up at the Pentagon and later served in the Ike administration.  I also recently found out that I am related to a fighter ace who flew in the European theatre (P-51’s, I believe).  Mrs. Robbo’s grandfather also flew a B-24 there, dropping supplies to the Resistance behind German lines.

So far as I know, nobody in my family participated directly in WWI.

As I’ve mentioned here before, my great-great grandfather was a Union artillery officer who fought in the Atlanta Campaign.

Finally, although I don’t have the information directly in front of me, I know of at least three ancestors from the Revolutionary War – one was in the Continental Army, one in a state militia and one had horses commandeered for military service.

So here’s a glass to all of them and to all others who have served.  Thank you!

