Greetings, my fellow port swillers!

Returning home in the quiet e’en-fall to Port Swiller Manor yesterday, ol’ Robbo was gratified to observe that the port-o-potty that has resided on the driveway lo! these many weeks had been removed, thus indicating that the contractor is of the opinion that all there is left to do in the Great Basement Restoration that has dominated our domestic economy since August are a few minor odds and ends.

(Allow me to take a breath after that sentence.)

So this morning, after doing my first round of leaf removal of the year, Mrs. R, the Eldest Gel and I lugged all the sofas, chairs and bookcases back into their usual spots, and since then I have started excavating the piles of books, pictures, doo-dads and electronic devices and removing them by armfuls from the living room and library to their proper homes.

It’s all remarkably like moving.  And just so you know, ol’ Robbo hates moving.

One thing that gives me more and more of a case of the heebie-jeebies as the years go by is all the cords and wires that are involved with things like stereos, teevee accessories and computers.  It’s not that I can’t eventually figure out which plug goes in which port and things like that, it’s just that they seem to go out of their way to get tangled up, to get snagged on things and just generally to add to teh chaos.

Speaking of which, when I went to reassemble the stereo components, I discovered that one of my Bose cube speakers seems to have gone missing.  I dimly remember that it didn’t come upstairs with the other cube and the big bass, but I cannot recall exactly what I did with it.  My fear is that I left it on a shelf in the basement and that it might have got swept up with the general refuse.  (These guys aren’t always exact in their cleanup.  When they were rebuilding our porch last summah, they threw away a perfectly good outdoor thermometer and a brass ship’s bell.)

Actually, it turns out not to matter very much at the moment, because I discovered that half the outlets in the study don’t seem to be carrying any current, so I can’t use the stereo anyway.  (Add that to the final punch list.)

Anyhoo, I’d say we’re about 95% of the way there now.

I’m going to be out of town on biznay most of this coming week (Vegas, baybee!), so I’ll try to get the Middle Gel to help me post some pics tomorrow afternoon or evening in order to keep you amused in my absence.

 

*Verified by the Royal Society For Putting One Thing On Top Of Another And Ebola Evaluation

 

