Big BrotherGreetings, my fellow port swillers!

This week the phones in ol’ Robbo’s office are being switched out for some new, fancy-pantsy VoIP jobs.   Among the many features of the new units is the promise of televideo.  To this end, the things feature 4×4 inch vid screens and embedded cameras.

When I was a kid, I probably would have thought this sort of thing pretty durn neat in a Star Trekkie way.

Now?  No way.  No. Freakin’. Way.

Even when I’m on the phone with somebody, I don’t want them eyeballing me.  Furthermore, and this may sound a bit tin-foiled hat-like (but then again, it may not in these horrible times), I’ll be damned if I’m going to sit at my desk all day with a camera aimed in my direction under the potential control of God-knows-who somewhere else in the system.

Just about the first thing I did when I got my new phone was to slap a piece of masking tape over the camera lens, coloring it over with a sharpie just to make sure.  (I’ve already done the same thing with the Port Swiller Manor iWhatever on which I am typing this post.)

Curiously, in the conversations I’ve had with some of my considerably more lib colleagues, I find they are similarly dubious about this “innovation” being planted on them.  At last, some common ground.  Invasive communications technology’s a real beyotch, ain’t she?

UPDATE:  You’re welcome –

 

