Washington-Nationals1Greetings, my fellow port swillers!

As regular friends of the decanter will know, Port Swiller Manor has been without cable teevee for about a month now due to the Great Basement Flood.

This aspect¹ of the disaster has bothered ol’ Robbo very little, for the most part, because he hardly ever watches much teevee outside of old movies anyway.  However, with respect to that one small part, it is absolutely driving him to drink² batty because he has been unable to watch his beloved Nationals working their way toward the NL East Division title.  Indeed, even as I type this post I have MLBcom’s Gameday open in another window as the team tries to put the season away against the dastardly Braves of Atlanta and it is a very, very poor substitute.³

As far as repairs go, I believe the contractor will be ready to paint downstairs before the end of this week, which means that we are making some progress.  If and when the Nats make it into the playoffs, I hope they stay alive long enough for the project to be finished and for ol’ Robbo to get in some more actual MASN viewing.

In the meantime, what else is there to do but surf the Innertoobs as best I can and say,

GO, NATS!!!

 

¹  On the other hand, the other aspects – the reduced living space, the cramming of furniture and things into half the main floor, the general grunginess and the constant stream of workmen in the house – are over time making me somewhat frantic.

²  Heck, that ship sailed a loooong time ago.

³   I suppose I could dial up the radio coverage, which I understand is very good.  I’ll certainly do that if we get to the playoffs before Verizon comes back on line.

UPDATE:  NATS WIN!  N.L. EAST, BAYBEE!!!!!

Second title in three years!  Not. Bad.

Friends of the decanter will forgive me my enthusiasm, especially as they will know that ol’ Robbo is no summer soldier, no sunshine patriot, but has stuck with his beloved Nats from the very beginning, through both the Bad Years and the Good.   So, ladies and gentlemen, pray charge your glasses, gun’ls down, and allow ol’ Robbo to propose once again:

GO, NATS!!!

