Greetings, my fellow port swillers!

Just off to do yard work.

As part of the basement repair at Port Swiller Manor, the workmen had to tear out all the foundation plantings along the front of the house.  Among the victims were a couple of azaleas, which they dug out whole and left sitting on modestly substantial root balls.

Well, it seems after a week or more that these azaleas are no worse for their experience, but continue happy.  So one of the things I’m doing today is wrapping their roots up in trash bags, watering them and moving them around to another location, to be replanted once external construction is over and done with.

Thus, I have learned something about transplanting azaleas.

Labor Day weekend is also the traditional start date for my annual resolve to finally dig up and separate the peonies out back.  Every year I tell myself that this is the year I will do it.  And every year, I reach a point after a few weeks of thinking, eh, maybe next year.  It’s just a thing.

