Greetings, my fellow port swillers!

Because the question I posed  below is the kind of thing that, if I don’t stamp it right out, will sit and burn a hole in my brain, I did a little research and actually found the show I was thinking of.  It was called “Westwind” and ran for about a dozen episodes in the winter of ’74-’75.  Here’s the intro:

 

I was more or less right about my dim recollection.  It’s the story of a family who tool around the Hawaiian Islands in a sailboat and find themselves in various adventures.  The sketchy synopses I’ve been able to dig up center around smugglers and pirates and storms and scary animals and don’t seem to speak directly to the lost Japanese soldier, but I’m pretty sure that bit in the intro where something goes boom in front of the dad came from that episode.

Guess the only part I forgot about was the mom.  Well, I was only nine at the time, so perhaps this is understandable.  Couple years later, she would have been the first thing to grab my attention.

So that’s that.

 

