Nats HatGreetings, my fellow port swillers!

Friday evening ol’ Robbo bugged out after work to meet the Port Swiller family down at Nationals Park to see his beloved Nats open the second half of the season against the Brewers of Milwaukee.

A good time was had by all, except that we ultimately lost and also that a quartet of the Brew Crew happened to sit directly in front of us and a somewhat inebriated, but friendly, member of said party kept leaning back to ask me trivia questions about Nats Park and various team traditions.  Somehow or other, he also managed several times to stick his elbow into my beer.

Eh, that’s part of the game.   So far as I was concerned, it was all good.  Besides, the fellah complimented me, based on what he heard of their chatter, on how much teh gels obviously knew about the game.  Very good.

No, what got me was this:  Not following Brewers baseball, I had heard nothing about Jean Segura, their shortstop, who recently received news that his nine-month-old son back home in the Dominican Republic had died.  Segura had taken some time off, and Friday was his first appearance back at the Bigs.

Well, when Segura stepped up for his first at bat, the crowd at  Nats Park game him a very warm ovation.

My sloshed new buddy was visibly moved by the tribute, and said as much.

This sort of thing makes ol’ Robbo very happy.  Just saying.

Oh, and the fact that we took the series off the Brewers this afternoon is a bit of a bonus, too.

