Greetings, my fellow port swillers!

Regular friends of the decanter will recall that ol’ Robbo’s eldest gel got her learner’s permit t’other day and spent a little time that afternoon poking about one of the local high school parking lots. 

Well, sir, that was Saturday and I naively thought said pokings would be the order of biznay for at least a week or two.

Riiiight.  As Diane Keaton, sending up Marlon Brando’s Stanley Kowalski in Sleeper put it, “Ha!  You got that? Ha! HA!”

Little did I realize then how thoroughly bitten by teh driving bug teh gel actually was.

Sunday afternoon she spent several hours driving Mrs. R hither and yon across the greater part of Northern Virginia.  (And gas is only $3.85 a gallon now. Huzzay!)

Yesterday teh gel was in command of the Honda Juggernaut® v.2 as she and Mrs. R went to pick up teh youngest gel at St. Marie of the Blesséd Educational Method.

This evening, she piloted said beast – the car, not the youngest gel – home in the midst of a thunderstorm.  As she came in, she said, “Dad! I parked in the garage and everything! And I didn’t even hit your car!”

Wearily, I closed my eyes and quietly poured myself another glass of teh blushful Hippocrene.  What else can one do?

Anyhoo, Mrs. Robbo reports that in the few days she’s actually been on the road, teh gel’s driving has been superb- careful, conscientious, but not hesitant.  In fact, the reports indicate that teh gel is a natural.

Frankly, I’m not really surprised, come to think of it.   Like certain other members of the Family Robbo, she often baulks at others’ authority, but when she feels she’s in command she can do wonders.

Her next goal?  Driving to school.  Which, because of scheduling constraints, involves not teh Juggernaut, but ol’ Dad’s Wrangler…..

Permit me to reach over for just one more glass of that ol’ blushful H.

Although she sees no good reason why we shouldn’t begin the new regime immediately, I’ve explained to her several times over the past couple days that a stick is considerably different from an automatic, as is a little ol’ fly-weight 4X4 from a full-sized SUV, and that she can’t just jump into the pilot’s seat and take off.

Nonetheless, ol’ Robbo sees the writing on the wall:  If we’re not out at the HS parking lot some time this weekend popping the clutch and grinding the gears, then I’m a Dutchman.

Wish me luck, my fellow port swillers:   When something interests her, teh gel is a great student.  I, on the other hand, am a lousy teacher.  We shall see what happens…..

In the meantime, Robbo is listening to:

