This afternoon the Middle Gel headed downtown for a “sound-check” session ahead of a gig she’s got tomorrow morning at the reopening of the Washington Monument:

The National Park Service will hold an opening ceremony May 12 to celebrate the reopening of the Washington Monument after years of repairs.
Al Roker, the TODAY show’s weather anchor, will serve as the master of ceremonies and will be joined by “American Idol” Season 12 winner Candice Glover. Also in attendance will be the Old Guard Fife & Drum Corps, the United States Navy Band, and the Boy and Girl Choristers of Washington National Cathedral Choir.

The 555-foot monument honoring America’s first president is reopening for the first time since August 23, 2011 after a 5.8 magnitude earthquake caused significant damage to the structure and forced its closure.

The ceremony is open to the public and will take place Monday, May 12 beginning at 10 a.m. on the southwest grounds of the Washington Monument.

The other day teh Gel mentioned that her musick director (known in teh family as “Mr. Big”) had described this event as one of high exposure with relatively little work for teh choir.  (I think they’re singing one of their old stand-bys.)  This made me chuckle.  The kids, in addition to their regular performances and rehearsals, also take lessons in voice, theory and keyboard.  I’m very glad Mr. Big is teaching them something about the realities of Shoo Biz, too.

This evening when I picked her up, teh Gel told me that the kids got to go up to the top of the Monument for a sneak-peak preview. She really enjoyed the view.  Me, I’ve never been up there, despite having lived in the area for nearly twenty-five years, and have no plans to do so whatsoever.   Because heights.

Oh, I gather the major networks are carrying the doings tomorrow morning, in case you’re interested in tuning in.

POST HOC UPDATE:   I give you the troupe in action.  Teh Gel is front row, fifth from the right, looking determinined. ( Go here for a video of them in action.  I was wrong in my earlier thoughts about the choice of musick.  It turns out that they sang an original arrangement of “My Country ‘Tis of Thee” that they only received for the first time yesterday.)

Cathedral Choir

 

Let me say, parenthetically, that I don’t post these items to stick on side, but instead for the benefit of teh Mothe, Sistah and other family members.  Well, okay, I’m proud as hell, too.

When I picked up teh gel from school this evening, she still had her “talent” credentials strung round her neck.   She was also wearing a John Deere baseball cap, part of a swag bag handed out to the kids that contained nothing else except a bag of potato chips.  (There’s simply no fathoming the corporate mentality.)  But as I say, that’s shoo biz.

