Nats HatI should mention here my delight in Robbo’s beloved Nationals starting off their 2014 season with a series sweep of the Noo Yawk Mets.  It seemed to me that, after an initial case of the jitters, the team only got stronger and more confident as they progressed.  Indeed, this afternoon’s finale proved to be a smack-down.

Of course, these are the Mets.   No offense, Gary, but, well, you know….*

The real test of the Nats’ mettle will come tomorrow, as they open their first home stand against teh hated Braves.  I think Boz is right in the article I linked above:  If we can pound the small-fry and battle nobly with the Big Dogs, we’ll be just fine.

So, what else is there to say except,

“GO, NATS!!!!”

Oh, incidentally, I had not seen the off-season report that Julie Alexandria was not returning as MASN’s dugout talent this spring, and didn’t even realize that there was a change until I saw Dan Kolko serving up the sideline commentary last evening.  Well, this gives Robbo a sad.  You can brand me any way you wish, but I liked Julie in the same way that I liked her predecessor, Debbi Taylor:  There’s something about the stat-spewing soccer mom type that causes the port-swiller heart to flutter a bit.

Ah, well.

 

*  Gary, for those of you who don’t know, was a long-time fried of the Llamas and actually became one himself in the last year or two.  We used to mix it up about the NL East back in the day.

