I must say that I really don’t give a wet slap about “March Madness” and bracket mania.

I went to very small Division III schools so never developed the almost pro sports allegiance that the bigger ones tend to foster (not that there weren’t some pretty intense rivalries in the NESCAC and ODAC, but it was on a much different scale with almost no bells and whistles compared to the top-tier programs).

Then again, I also find basketball boring.   The only time I found the faintest interest in the sport was when the eldest gel played CYO in middle school.

Of course, people often argue that college ball is a lot different from the NBA and I understand their point, but it’s just not enough to stir my enthusiasm.

Anyhoo, don’t expect anything else from me on the subject.

* * * *

NNats Hatow, baseball, that’s a different story.  Less than ten days until opening day and ol’ Robbo is READY!

I’ve managed to catch a couple spring training games recently on teevee and things look pretty good for my beloved Nationals.  I am, however, somewhat concerned that in the games I’ve seen they’ve stranded an awful lot of runners on the bags and not scored very much.  This awakes a nameless fear in Robbo’s heart, because it was lack of offense that held us back last season as much as anything else.  I saw one stat where whenever we scored 4-plus runs we were virtually unstoppable, but whenever we scored three or fewer, we usually got beat.   (Nonetheless, I’m sticking with my season prediction, especially as Atlanta’s rotation has had a terrible series of injuries this preseason.)

Well, we shall see.  I’m sure better baseball eyes than mine have noticed this and are taking it in hand.  In the meantime, what else is there to say than,

 

GO, NATS!!!!

