Greetings, my fellow port swillers!

Long time friend of the decanter Diane dropped a comment linking to a story this week about a recent minor kerfluffle between Robbo’s beloved Nationals and the FAA over the former’s use of unlicensed drones to snap pics of their spring training games.

I’d seen this story myself and I guess my first reaction was bemusement over the Nats’ droll, “Yes, it’s true…This man has no dick” response.

My broader feeling about drone technology is still evolving and is colored primarily by my general distrust of centralized control and oversight.  On the one hand, I can see the immense advantages in a military or defense setting of having such devices spying out enemy positions or going in first to analyze bombs or booby-traps.  On the other, I am troubled by their potential applications in domestic, civilian scenarios.

I suppose my initial attitude with respect to the latter is this:  If people want, on a private basis, to survey their spring training (as in the above case) or their delivery routes or whatever else, well then fine.   However, if teh Gubmint wants to drone someone or something for its own purposes, I want to see that warrant and I want to see it well in advance.

More generally, I want a clear understanding that drones, purposed for whatever use, are fair targets.  If I see one of those things hovering outside the front door of Port Swiller Manor, whether in service of Amazon or the IRS,  I have every right to dash inside, grab a 12-guage, run back out and blast that thing out of the sky.  Period.   Pure assumption of the risk on the part of those who want to employ ’em.

Heh.  Pre-21st Century:  “Git off’n my lawn!”

21st Century and beyond:  “Git out’n my airspace!”

