Greetings, my fellow port swillers and happy March!

Thanks to global warming (or sumpin’) the neighborhood of Port Swiller Manor is enjoying this first day of meteorological spring by bracing itself for yet another snow storm that will hit tomorrow night. Five Eight to twelve inches is the latest estimate I’ve heard, with a pretty good chance of significant icing.  I know that doesn’t sound like much to those of you farther north, but it’s plenty to put us in full-blown panic mode.  Once again, Mrs. R and I are making contingency plans to burn the furniture and eat the children if necessary.

Speaking of children and the snow, I’m sure all of you have heard of the custom of wearing jammies inside out in order to encourage snow fall.  Well, a fellah told me about another one recently, that of flushing ice down the toilet.  Have any of you ever heard of that?  I hadn’t.

One of my habits (and ol’ Robbo has habits the way beaches have grains of sand) is to fill the bird feeders on Saturday mornings.  They’re generally cleaned out by mid-week so stand empty for a few days, and yet the birds are right back into them within 10 or 15 minutes of my refilling.  I got wondering about this today.  Is it possible that the locals have some sort of instinctual sense of the timing of my fill ups?  Do they spot me at it and know what I’m doing?  Do they recognize the visible difference?

Mrs. R and I are going out to dinner with some friends this evening and I’m sure, as is their wont, they’re going to bring up one or more politickal topics.   Sigh.  The biggest frustration is that these folks get their nooz from the MSM, and to even begin a discussion of the actual merits of a given issue, I have to do all kinds of heavy lifting to disabuse them of the propaganda that has informed their views.  So tarsome.

Well, that’s about it for the moment.  Ol’ Robbo finally came out and admitted to himself this morning that yes, he has a sinus infection.  It’s been a long while since the last one and I forgot how much they hurt.  Ouch.

UPDATE:   Yay, no politicking at dinner after all.  Might have something to do with my saying the last time we got together that I thought “income inequality” was a bogus issue based on false economic premises ginned up for no other reason than to inflame class warfare.  Thought the fellah’s head was going to explode.

