Greetings, my fellow port swillers!

You may call ol’ Robbo “old school” – I’m sure you already call me much worse – but I for one prefer the celebration of Washington’s birthday to this generic chief executive tribute stuff.   Old George surely merits his country’s eternal memory and thanks.  Fellahs like Buchanan, Johnson, Wilson, Carter and, ah, others we need not name?  Not so much.   So for me, today really isn’t much other than a day off work.

♦     Robbo spent most of yesterday afternoon in his favorite chair overlooking the bird feeders, reading his Parkman and staring out the window from time to time.  In the course of a couple hours, two different hawks blitzed the feeders.  The youngest gel and I identified one of them as a Cooper’s Hawk.  The other was immature.  As I discovered from  my Peterson’s Field Guide (always at hand), almost all immature hawks look exactly like each other.  The only way to even guess at the subspecies is by the bird’s size.  This one was pretty durn big.

Neither one was successful, by the way.  The immature bird in particular spent several minutes perched on the roof of the porch looking extremely indignant.

♦     Speaking of which, I may have mentioned before the youngest’s interest in ornithology?  She loves to show off her knowledge about comparative features – crests and caps, rounded vs. squared tails and the like.  She recently asked me what schools had good ornithology programs.

“Well, there’s Cornell,” I said.

“Where’s that?” she asked.

“Upstate New York.  It gets very, very cold.”

“Ummmm, I don’t think I’d like that.  Anywhere else?”

Beats me.  I suppose I ought to look into it.

♦    Another dose of snow/sleet is on the way tonight and tomorrow morning, although it looks like it’s just going to be a nuisance this time around.  Then the temperatures are supposed to get up into the 60’s by the end of the week.   I may say that I’ve had plenty of wintah, thank you very much.  Moar warm, please!

I say this now so that, when I am being slowly parboiled over the summah and complaining bitterly about it, I can dig up this post and remind myself of what I will be missing.

 

 

