Greetings, my fellow port swillers!

Well, it’s difficult to tell for sure because of drifting and compacting, but I would guess somewhere around 7 or 8 inches of snow fell overnight around Port Swiller Manor, a respectable amount and certainly the most we’ve had in the last three years but not quite name-worthy in my opinion.  We seem to be in something of a dry slot this morning (around 9 a.m.), but the weather-wallahs promise some more of the stuff during the day.  We’ll see.

For the moment, I think I’ll hold off shoveling the driveway.  On the other hand, I’d better go out and fill up the bird feeders.  As I type, I can see all the widdle birdies eyeing me reproachfully whilst sucking in their cheeks.

Speaking of which, do you know what I hate?  Our eldest cat spent about two hours this morning nagging me to get out of bed and feed her – sitting on my chest, stropping her claws, meowing – finally when I did, she took one nibble of the stuff and ran off.

Grrrr.

It has nothing to do with food and everything to do with control.

Grrrrrrr.

Ah, well, never mind.  Coffee is brewed, so at least there’s that.

UPDATE:  Well, it appears that the weather wallahs have decided to christen the storm after all.  They’re calling this one “Snochi”.  Eh, heh, I guess.

UPDATE DEUX:  Well, my indoor eye-balling this morning was not all that accurate.  We actually got something around a foot.  The driveway was a solid 15 to 18 inches deep, with more scooped up against the garage door and, of course, where the plows dumped it at the road.  Took me about three hours this afternoon to shovel it all out.  I find I’m not quite such a young man as I was the last time I had to move this much snow.

