ohmyson-264x264Greetings, my fellow port swillers!

As we batten down the hatches and prepare for the onslaught of the latest Storm of the Century of the Week, ol’ Robbo is listening to “Oh My Son”, a piece of choral musick by a young contemporary fellah named Marcos Galvany.

The piece, described as “operatic tableaux”, purports to portray the story of various incidents in the life of Jesus that the composer recalls being told by his mother during his yoot in Spain.   It seems to have premiered about three or four years ago to enthusiastic reception, and has since been performed in several prime venues, including the Vatican.

On just a first hearing, it doesn’t seem to be too bad to me, although it feels a little more Broadway than Seven Last Words, if you know what I mean.   Still, compared to what often passes as “musick” these days, it is quite refreshing in its adherence to traditional forms.

Anyhoo, the reason I’m listening to it – or even aware of it at all, for that matter – is that Galvany is getting ready to release a limited edition CD of the thing, and a couple of tracks are going to feature none other than teh Middle Gel and her fellow choristers.  They recorded their bits this past weekend:

choir

(Pic lifted from Señor Galvany’s FB page.  I’m sure he won’t mind, since I’m plugging his CD here.)

Is ol’ Robbo proud of his daughter, the professional musician?  Oh, you betcha!

UPDATE:  It was only as I was typing this post that I realized the link to the piece leads to a loop.  I thought the musick sounded rayther repetitive….

