Greetings, my fellow port swillers!

Although he doesn’t go in all that much for politickal fare, Ol’ Robbo just put in an order at teh devil’s website for Yuval Levin’s new book, The Great Debate: Edmund Burke, Thomas Paine, and the Birth of Right and Left.

I look forward to reading this.  Although I have a great many Tory sympathies largely grounded in Tradition, I also harbor a good many Burkean ideas about teh marketplace, personal autonomy and God’s invisible hand re the relationship between them.

On the other hand, I have always loathed Paine as nothing more than a demagogic rabble-rouser of the sort who championed the French Revolution.   “And I presume you know what that unfortunate movement led to?”

Alas, projecting forward to the Now, I fear the Paine Gang has won the battle for teh soul of this country, and I now await teh inevitable collapse associated with such victory.   Hopefully, I’ll be dead before we drain the bitter dregs, but I mourn for my children’s and grandchildren’s future.

Incidentally, I will spill teh beans here by stating that I am now almost half-way through Tolstoy’s War and Peace for the very first time.   Tackling this book had long been on what I suppose I must call my “bucket list”, and in an off-hand moment Mrs. Robbo remembered me saying something about it and got me a copy as a Christmas present.

I want to save my impressions of  W&P until I’ve finished it, but I will say this:  Good God Almighty, what a sprawling tome this thing is!

