Greetings, my fellow port swillers!

Well, since everybody else is getting in on the action, I’ll just go ahead and mention that the temperature in the neighborhood of Port Swiller Manor is supposed to drop down to about 5 above tonight and the wind-chill is forecast to tank to about eleventy-billion below, or some such figgah.

I know it’s not as bad as conditions farther north and west, but it’s still pretty damned cold.  I’m going to be mighty crabby if we lose power or one of the pipes bursts.

The eldest gel’s (public) high school has already announced that it will be closed tomorrow.  The younger gels’ (private) middle and elementary schools most likely will not be.   As you can imagine, there is much seething bitterness in teh household this evening, not reduced by ol’ Robbo’s rhetorical question, “Hey, who says life is fair?”

As for myself, I will just say this:  Tomorrow promises to be one of those days in which I will have no regrets whatever that I no longer walk seven blocks between the metro and my office, but instead now park in the building across the street.

And while we’re on the topic, how about the Cold Genius’s aria from Purcell’s King Arthur?  (Sorry about the stupid staging, but the performance is the best I could find on YooToob.)

Pre-Dawn School-Checking Update:  Five three degrees on the port-swiller accu-thermometer, baybee!  The good news is that, at least from the sound, it isn’t quite so windy (at the moment) as they feared.

