Greetings, my fellow port swillers and a very happy New Year to each and every one of you!

We spent ours, as we have these last twenty-odd years or so, in company with the Former Llama Military Correspondent and family.  It is almost inevitable when Mr. & Mrs. LMC get together with Self and Mrs. Robbo that we spend the evening engaged in adult-beverage-fueled gossip and reminiscence until somebody notices that it is about 11:59:40 and maybe we ought to turn on the teevee to see the ball drop in Times Square.   This year was no different.  I hope you lot had as pleasant a time as we did.

I don’t know why, but somehow having both Christmas and New Year’s right smack in the middle of the week is completely discombobulating me this time around.   I know tomorrow is actually Thursday.  I just don’t really believe it.

On a technical note, I would remind all you friends of the decanter that the Port Swiller stylebook states quite clearly that “2014” must be pronounced “twenty-fourteen” and NOT “two thousand-fourteen”.  We will be monitoring for compliance.

On a lighter note, if you haven’t checked out Dave Barry’s 2013 year-end review yet, I strongly suggest you nip on over right now.  It’s a classic.  Of course, with the year just ended being such a God-awful one, he had plenty of material to work with.

At any rate, on to 2014!

