Greetings, my fellow port swillers!

Ol’ Robbo popped into his DVD player this evening a copy of the Dennis Leary film The Ref.

I recall having tried to watch this movie once before about twenty years ago and dozing off at some point.  More recently, I had read several articles about its supposed Catholic underpinnings, so I decided to try it again.

My reaction? Well….yeah, but I still understand why I dozed off the last time.  It isn’t all that great a flick.   IMHO, Leary’s talents – which I think as a stand-up comic are considerable – are wasted in this format.

What I liked this time around, though, was the misplaced (in calendar terms) but lovely acknowledgement to St. Lucia.  I’m guessing that there is a frontier between those in the audience who watch the protagonist family members placing lighted wreaths on their heads in her honor and say, “Yeesh, what a bunch of freaks!” and those who say, “Cool, how can I convince MY family to do something like that?”

Yes, I’m in the latter camp.

 

