Greetings, my fellow port swillers!

It would seem that Peej O’Rourke has got a new book coming out in which he examines the Baby Boom generation in that calm, mild, subtle, caring manner we’ve come to expect.  The WSJ printed an article-lenght excerpt the other day which brought a slight smile to my lips and a gentle lift to my eyebrow.   A sample for you, in case you haven’t seen it already:

We are the generation that changed everything. Of all the eras and epochs of Americans, ours is the one that made the biggest impression—on ourselves. That’s an important accomplishment, because we’re the generation that created the self, made the firmament of the self, divided the light of the self from the darkness of the self, and said, “Let there be self.” If you were born between 1946 and 1964, you may have noticed this yourself.

That’s not to say we’re a selfish generation. Selfish means “too concerned with the self,” and we’re not. Self isn’t something we’re just, you know, concerned with. We are self.

Before us, self was without form and void, like our parents in their dumpy clothes and vague ideas. Then we came along. Now the personal is the political. The personal is the socioeconomic. The personal is the religious and the secular, science and the arts. The personal is everything that creepeth upon the earth after his (and, let us hasten to add, her) kind. If the baby boom has done one thing, it’s to beget a personal universe. (Our apologies for anyone who personally happens to be a jerk.)

 Okay, I fibbed a bit just now.  I actually collapsed into howls of derisive laughter, Bruce.   Not only do I delight in the riff on Genesis in this passage for its evident theological erudition, I also feel my general derision for these people flaring up again because Peej has Absolutely. Got. It. In. One.

Go read the rest.  I’ll wait.  Shifting away somewhat from the imagery quoted above, Peej goes on to break down the Boomers into four classes – senior, junior, sophomore and freshman – and gives an impressive summary of the shaping environments, experiences, goals and expectations of each, citing famous class members to illustrate his points.  It’s all teh funny and it’s all teh awful truth.  And I say “awful” because I’ve an idea this Universe of the Self is about to enter the Burning Times.  And to quote ol’ Fred:

But back to the article.  While it’s is only a small sample of the larger tome, it reminds me of Peej’s Glory Days back in the 90’s.  (I still think All The Trouble In The World is his finest book.)  He’s been somewhat, well, inconsistent the past few years, but I’ve a feeling this latest book may recapture some of the earlier vitriolic goodiness.

Anyhoo, it’s certainly worth twenty bucks to take a chance, so why don’t you do like me and nip on over to the devil’s website and pre-order your copy of the book, The Baby Boom: How It Got That Way…And It Wasn’t My Fault…And I’ll Never Do It Again.

