Greetings, my fellow port swillers!

Ol’ Robbo spent this Halloween evening in the costume of Teh Guy Who Wasn’t Home.  It involved skulking in the basement with an adult beverage and a Patrick O’Brian novel.

In the meantime, teh youngest gel and one of her chums went out to hoover the neighborhood.

Every time the gel is out and about, I leave the front door of Port Swiller Manor unlocked for her.   And every time she returns, we go through the same ritual:

Self (dozing/reading/listening to music): Ommmmmm…….

Off stage:  BANG-BANG-BANG-BANG-BANG!!!

Self (scrambling for the door):  Raggle-fraggle-baggle-graggle-dammit-dammit-dammit-dammit…….

[Self jerks open door)

Self:  Consarn it!  HOW many times  have I told you to try the handle FIRST,  BEFORE you start banging on the knocker?!!

Gel (batting eyes): Oh…sorry.  I forgot.

Self (muttering): Yeah, right. 

I’m just about sure she does this on purpose.

Grrrrr…..

(Oh, and I had left a big bowl of treats sitting on the front steps for anyone who happened to come by.  When I opened the door to teh gel and her chum, she handed me the empty bowl and remarked casually how it had been cleaned out.  I have never in my life seen a more self-satisfied pair of cats with canaries in their mouths.)

