charlie-brownGreetings, my fellow port swillers!

Last evening at teh eldest gel’s softball practice, owing to distractions and miscommunications one of our better players got hit in the eye with a pretty hard thrown ball.  Almost instantly it was plain that she will be sporting a rayther severe shiner for the days to come.

After the initial alarum and excursion surrounding the poor girl’s evident pain, which featured various and sundry coaches, players and parents scrambling for cloths, water and ice, I eventually found the victim sitting on the bench with a compress held against her inflamed cheek.

“So,” I said, “You know what you need to say when anyone comments on that bruise, don’t you?”

“No,” she answered, still in pain,”What?”

Hey,” I said, “You shoulda seen what I did to the other guy!”

Teh girl was game enough to giggle.

Nice to feel that I helped a bit.

