Greetings, my fellow port swillers!

As long-time friends of the decanter know, Robbo’s three gels all spent their primary education at St. Marie of the Blessed Educational Method.  Teh Youngest Gel is now in her senior year there, occupying the position of Queen Bee of the upper elementary program.

Last evening, Robbo happened to glance over one of the Y.G.’s recent creative writing assignments.  (Creative writing is a huge component of teh upper elementary curriculum, the general assignment seemingly to be to incorporate a given set of vocabulary words into a few short paragraphs in a  manner indicating the writer’s understanding of said vocabulary words.)

Anyhoo, as I perused teh gel’s story, my eyes alighted on this particular sentence:  “The crowd descended on the remains of the buffet like a flock of seagulls fighting over a dead crab.”

I had to laugh to myself.

You see, that simile about gulls and dead crabs  is one that I have often employed about the behavior of the gel and her sisters when trying to break up one of their countless domestic squabbles.  I’m sure other people have used it as well, but I am reasonably satisfied that teh gels are unlikely to have heard it from anyone else but me.

I often accuse the gels of not listening to me.  Evidently, they actually do sometimes.

 

