Greetings, my fellow port swillers!

Yes, ol’ Robbo finds himself starting an unscheduled vacation of undetermined length today as Uncle closes up shop.  It will be interesting to see what happens.  Of course, National Propaganda Radio was screaming this morning for all its worth about Shutdown Dooooom and how it’s all the fault of those loose-cannon Tay Party wacko-birds, but I wonder -especially given how truly porous this  temporary stoppage is- whether most people will really give a damn.   Remember Sequester-palooza?

So what are those wacko birds about?  Well, I won’t get into the details of my theory here.  Suffice to say, I believe this will be a tactical loss (and I think the wackos will take a hit and eventually climb down) that may actually help achieve strategic victory.  (Whether this is a deliberate ploy or not is another question).  This next year of 0-care roll out will represent a serious shift in context.  No longer is this a philosophical debate and propaganda battle largely ignored by people who don’t specialize in gubmint wonkery.  Now it becomes a tangible force:  people being made to actually do things and having things done to them by a bureaucracy that, to borrow the Gipper’s famous line, combines the efficiency of the Post Office with the compassion of the IRS.  And I think that the result is going to be ugly, ugly, ugly, to an extent no amount of Official Happy-Talk or media shilling can overcome.

This right before the mid-terms.  And who will be in the position to honestly say, “Look, we did everything we could, everything,  to try and stop or stall this beast”?  And who will be left -as people so unfortunately keep saying these days – “owning” it?

At least that’s my belief.  If I’m wrong, then this really is just a suicide charge.

Anyhoo, here I am.  My plan for overcoming the psychological trauma of being deemed “non-essential” is to spend most of the day loafing in my hammock.

 

 

