Greetings, my fellow port swillers!

This evening at softball practice, teh eldest gel and her friends were amusink themselves to no end over this:

Damme, if I know what the hell it’s supposed to mean, but teh E.G. informs me that it is undergoing a meteoric rise in innertoob popularity at teh moment.

Eh.  I tasked teh E.G. about it on the drive home.  She argued that it is, in fact,  a good thing compared to the typical trash flooding pop “culture” these days.  The words ( according to her), are essentially meaningless.  The beat is, if boring, constant.  And there are no nekked or even half-nekked gels running about in the vid.

Well…….I suppose teh gel has a point.  And on review, I detect a certain amount of tongue-in-cheek about teh whole biznay.  After all, teh thing seems more eclectic than anything else, and, for all my own musickal snootiness here, my tastes are catholic enough that I can confess a weak spot for similar pop oddities such as They Might Be Giants and Thomas Dolby and teh B-52’s.

Anyhoo, I have to admit that a whole diamond full of gels suddenly erupting in, “Ring-ding-ding-ding-ading-ding!” is kinda amusing.

Update:  Grrr…Wordpress ate my extended comments about teh gel’s nostalgia for the Reagan Years, in which, even though she was born a decade after they ended,  she perceives life back then to have been much more vibrant and worthwhile, yet more personally responsible, than it is in our own wretched times.

A. Men.   And contemplating on this, despite my well-documented musickal snootiness, I couldn’t help thinking of this classic mid-80’s nonsense gem:

UPDATE DEUX:  At Eldest Gel’s softball game today, imagine my surprise when I suddenly realized the entire opponent’s dugout was singing “Ring-ding-ding-ding-ading-ding!”

So I guess it is a thing.   (I’m told, btw, that the people involved are actually comedians, so I was right in my sense of tongue-in-cheek.)

