haydn hardyGreetings, my fellow port swillers!

Ol’ Robbo was mulling this evening on the various slings and arrows that outrageous Fortune is wont to send down in our direction, and somehow or other shifted said mullings on to the musickal plane.

And here is what I came down to thinking:  I recognize the artistic superiority in every sense of ol’ Johann Sebastian Bach;  I love the theatricality of Handel;  I see the clean genius of Mozart and the rayther sullied same of Beethoven.  But you know what?  When it comes to everyday cares, when it comes to the true meat and potatoes of getting on prior to shuffling off our mortal coil here on Earth, when we sinful Men must answer the thousand questions associated with said getting on,  again and again I can’t help asking myself:  What would Papa Haydn do?

I can’t quite place my finger on it yet, but there is something about Haydn as a person and as an artist that reminds me of that exchange between Beatrice and Don Pedro in Much Ado About Nothing:

Beatrice: Good Lord for alliance! Thus goes everyone to the world but I, and I am sunburnt; I may sit in a corner and cry ‘heigh-ho!’ for a husband.

Don Pedro: Lady Beatrice, I will get you one.

Beatrice: I would rather have one of your father’s getting. Hath your grace not a brother like you? Your father got excellent husbands, if a maid could come by them.

Don Pedro: Will you have me, lady?

Beatrice: [pauses] No, my lord, unless I might have another for working-days. Your Grace is too costly to wear everyday. But I beseech your Grace to pardon me; for I was born to speak all mirth and no matter.

Somehow, I always think of Papa as that working-days “another”.   And the humor and spirituality and humanity that he injected into his music, to say nothing of the technical expertise and wit, does very well indeed for the working day.

 

