Greetings, my fellow port swillers!

Well, the Middle Gel left this morning for choir camp somewhere down around Richmond, thus kicking off the O-fficial Port Swiller Manor academic year.  (Regular classes resume after Labor Day for all three gels. 10th, 8th and 6th grades, respectively.  Yikes.)  If I may borrow a hoary cliché, where in Heaven’s name did the summah go?  For that matter, where did the entire past year go?  I know I’m starting to get a bit older and I also know that we had more than the usual number of alarums and excursions this past twelve months, but I simply cannot remember another one that blew by so very quickly.

Speaking of summah,  either Heat Miser got furloughed under the Sequester or else AlGore has taken up residence in the vicinity, because this year has been for the most part absolutely delightful in the neighborhood of Port Swiller Manor.

Also speaking of summah, as in “boys of”,  I can’t help noticing that Robbo’s beloved Nats are on a 5-game winning streak.  As Ace likes to say, is this a thing?  Because I think it might be a thing.   I won’t even touch the playoff math here, but instead just wanted to say how nice it is to see the guys playing the way we know they can.  Also to say, of course, GO, NATS!!!

And finally, speaking of team chemistry, we have not yet found it among the feline population here at teh Manor.  The two new kittehs, even though they were from separate litters, get along like Damon and Pythias.  However, the elder cat has decided she absolutely hates the pair of them and will attack if not watched.   I’m not quite sure what to do about this.  If the younglings were a bit bigger, I’d simply let them fight it out until a balance is struck, but as it is they’re really too small to defend themselves.   Just what ol’ Robbo needs – more female squabbling.

Well, off to Mass.

