Greetings, my fellow port swillers!

Speaking of “content” as I did in the post below, I had a dream last night that I was on the phone with Ulysses S. Grant.  Our mothers had arranged a play-date for us in which I was to take him on a walking tour of the upper Shenandoah Valley, and I had called in order to finalize the arrangements.   As I spoke, I was strolling about a small cement culvert in the middle of a series of fields and woods, thinking that it actually was the Shenandoah River.

The strange (well, the other strange) part of it was that Grant was very tight-lipped, but at the same time I couldn’t get him off the phone.  The conversation went something like this:

Me:  We, I’m really looking forward to this walk.

Grant:  Yep.

*Crickets*

Me:  Um, well, I guess you’ll be wanting to get ready….

Grant:  Mmp.

*Crickets*

Me:  Yes, well, I really need to get some studying done before then, so…..

Grant:  Ah.

*More crickets*

I didn’t want to just hang up on him because it would have been rude.  At the same time, he just wouldn’t take the hint to ring off.

I awoke without resolving this stalemate.  Lord knows what it might mean.

